Roughriders. Yavapai College Athletics: Encouraging academic & athletic excellence since 1969

Three More Roughriders Inducted Into NJCAA HOF

July 11th, 2013 » filed under: Soccer News, Top Story

Three more Yavapai College soccer team members have been inducted into the NJCAA Soccer Hall of Fame bringing the total up to 21 HOF members, the most from any junior college soccer program.  The 2013 inductees include:

Kobah Washington led Yavapai College to two National Championship Game appearances in 1990 and 1991.  His 1990 team captured the school’s first of seven NJCAA National Soccer Championships.  He was named to the NJCAA National All-Tournament teams both his freshmen and sophomore years. An NSCAA All-American forward, he is the all-time leading post-season goal scorer in Yavapai College history with 14 playoff goals.  The Roughriders compiled an overall record of 43-2-1 in his two years with the Arizona school.  He also played at Grand Canyon University and on numerous professional sides’ pre-Major League Soccer.

Josh Westermann was a two-time NJCAA National Champion while playing for Yavapai College during the 2002 and 2003 seasons when they compiled an overall record of 44-4-2.  He captained the Roughriders on their repeat run during his sophomore year while being named to the NJCAA National All-Tournament team. He completed his college career at Gonzaga University, starting in all matches and captained the team his senior season.  He helped lead Cleveland to a United Soccer League crown in 2008.  In addition, he played in the top South African and Kenyan professional league for three years. As the only white player in the Kenyan Premier League, he captained Nairobi City Stars.  He is currently coaching at San Diego Christian College.

Tim Kelly led Yavapai College to an overall record of 46-2-3 during his two seasons in 2005 and 2006.  He was named to both the NJCAA & NSCAA All-America teams in 2006.  After two national tournament appearances with the Roughriders, he continued his role as captain with Oregon State University in 2007 and 2008, where he started every match during his junior and senior years.  He was named First Team All-Pacific-10 while being honored as Scholar Athlete of the Year at Oregon State University.

With an all-time record of 517-43-18 since the program’s inception in 1989, Yavapai College has captured 69 conference, region, district and national soccer championships, including seven national titles.  The Roughriders will kick-off their 25th season on Thursday, August 22 against Chandler-Gilbert Community College at Mountain Valley Park in Prescott Valley.


(Yavapai College Inductees)

Michael PantalioneCoach1989-present
Hugh BellCoach1992-present
Edson RicoAttacker1989, 1990
Andre LucianoGoalkeeper1989, 1990
Jose CoronaDefender1990, 1991
Kobah WashingtonAttacker1990, 1991
Darren ClareDefender1992, 1993
Avery JohnDefender1994, 1995
Steve YbarraAttacker1995, 1996
Matt KirkpatrickDefender1996, 1997
Kevin JeffreyAttacker1996, 1997
Kelvin JackGoalkeeper1997, 1998
Alan GordonAttacker2000, 2001
Maurice HughesAttacker2002, 2003
Josh WestermannDefender2002, 2003
Michael RandolphDefender2004, 2005
Roger EspinozaDefender2005, 2006
Tim KellyDefender2005, 2006
Irving GarciaAttacker2006, 2007
Francis KhamisAttacker2007, 2008
Justin MeramAttacker2007, 2008