Roughriders. Yavapai College Athletics: Encouraging academic & athletic excellence since 1969

Three More Roughriders Inducted Into The Soccer HOF

May 17th, 2012 » filed under: Soccer News, Top Story

Three attackers who have impacted JUCO soccer are the latest inductees into the NJCAA Soccer Hall of Fame and will be honored in a ceremony in conjunction with the NJCAA Men’s Division One National Soccer Tournament banquet at Darton College in Albany, Georgia in November. Yavapai College, which has the most representation of any school, now has 18 team members in the hall. The 2012 inductees include:

Francis Khamis is the all-time goals leader for Yavapai College with 53. He led the storied program to consecutive NJCAA national championships in 2007 and 2008 while earning 125 points and contributing to a 50-2-0 overall team record. He was named Most Valuable Player of the 2008 NJCAA National Tournament. In addition, he was a key member of the Roughriders team which accomplished a perfect 26-0-0 season in 2008. He was also named to both the NJCAA and NSCAA All-America teams. He played for Al Ahli Khartoum in the Sudan Premier League for three years in addition to a number of appearances with the Sudan National Team.

Justin Meram is the all-time point’s leader for Yavapai College with 132. He led the Prescott, Arizona school to back to back national titles in 2007 and 2008 while compiling 51 goals and contributing to a 50-2-0 overall team record. He was named Most Valuable Player of the 2007 NJCAA National Tournament. The former NJCAA and NSCAA All-American was named NSCAA National Player of the Year in 2008. In addition, he played two seasons at the University of Michigan, including a Final Four appearance in his senior season with the Wolverines. He was selected in the 2011 Major League Soccer draft by Columbus and currently is in his second season with the Crew.

Steve Ybarra was a two-time NJCAA and NSCAA All-American while at Yavapai College during the 2005 and 2006 seasons. His teams played in two NJCAA National Championship matches against Mercer County Community College in New Jersey where he was named to the All-Tournament Team in 2006. He was the captain and leading scorer, as a midfielder, for the Roughriders. He finished top 10 NCAA Division II in assists representing the University of Wisconsin-Parkside in 1997. He was their team captain in 1998. The former professional player is currently in his 10th year as a high school teacher and soccer coach in Peoria, Arizona.

(Yavapai College Inductees)
  • Michael Pantalione, Coach (1989-present)
  • Hugh Bell, Coach (1992-present)
  • Edson Rico, Attacker (1989, 1990)
  • Andre Luciano, Goalkeeper (1989, 1990)
  • Jose Corona, Defender (1990, 1991)
  • Darren Clare, Defender (1992, 1993)
  • Avery John, Defender (1994, 1995)
  • Steve Ybarra, Attacker (1995, 1996)
  • Matt Kirkpatrick, Defender (1996, 1997)
  • Kevin Jeffrey, Attacker (1996, 1997)
  • Kelvin Jack, Goalkeeper (1997, 1998)
  • Alan Gordon, Attacker (2000, 2001)
  • Maurice Hughes, Attacker (2002, 2003)
  • Michael Randolph, Defender (2004, 2005)
  • Roger Espinoza, Defender (2005, 2006)
  • Irving Garcia, Attacker (2006, 2007)
  • Francis Khamis, Attacker (2007, 2008)
  • Justin Meram, Attacker (2007, 2008)