Roughriders. Yavapai College Athletics: Encouraging academic & athletic excellence since 1969

Three Former Roughriders Into Soccer Hall Of Fame

July 9th, 2011 » filed under: Soccer News, Top Story

Three former Yavapai College soccer players who have all impacted JUCO soccer are the 2011 inductees to the NJCAA Soccer Hall of Fame. During the month of November, the inductees will be officially honored at the NJCAA Division One Soccer Banquet in Phoenix, Arizona. They join 59 other coaches, contributors and players already named to the NJCAA Soccer Hall of Fame. Yavapai College now has 15 members in the Hall, the most representing any school.

The 2011 Hall of Fame class includes:

Andre Luciano was in goal when Yavapai College captured their first national championship in 1990 with the program’s initial recruiting class. He was named the NJCAA National Tournament Most Valuable Goalkeeper and the ISAA/Adidas National Goalkeeper of the Year. He continued his education and played for Indiana University helping the Hoosiers to two NCAA National Tournament appearances. He was selected Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year in 1993. He graduated with a degree in American History from Indiana in 1994. He is currently in his 11th season as Head Women’s Soccer Coach at Northern Arizona University.

Roger Espinoza played at Yavapai College during the 2005 and 2006 seasons helping them compile an overall record of 46-2-3 for the Arizona junior college. In 2007, he led Ohio State University to the NCAA Division One National Championship Game, scoring the Buckeyes only goal in the final. He was drafted by the Kansas City of Major League Soccer and has played for the Wizards, now Sporting Kansas City since the 2008 season. In addition, he has a number of national caps representing Honduras, including 2010 World Cup appearances in South Africa.

Irving Garcia led Yavapai College to an overall record of 47-2-3 in his two years while helping the Roughriders capture the 2007 NJCAA National Championship. He was named to the NSCAA and NJCAA All-America Teams before moving on to play two seasons at University of California-Irvine. He was named Big West Conference Player of the Year and NCAA Division One First Team All-American by in 2009. He was drafted and played for the New York Red Bull of Major League Soccer in 2010.

Complete List of Roughriders in the Hall:

Mike Pantalione – Head Coach (1989 to present)
Hugh Bell – Associate Coach (1992 to present)
Edson Rico – Attacker (1989 & 1990)
Jose Corona -Defender (1989 & 1990)
Andre Luciano – Goalkeeper (1989 & 1990)
Darren Clare – Defender (1992 & 1993)
Avery John – Defender (1994 & 1995)
Matt Kirkpatrick – Defender (1996 & 1997)
Kevin JeffreY – Attacker (1996 & 1997)
Kelvin Jack – Goalkeeper (1997 & 1998)
Alan Gordon – Attacker (2000 & 2001)
Maurice Hughes – Attacker (2002 & 2003)
Michael Randolph – Defender (2004 & 2005)
Roger Espinoza – Defender (2005 & 2006)
Irving Garcia – Attacker (2006 & 2007)